	Infant Period (1948-51)	Period of Expansion (1952-64) Period of Consolidation (19	65-90) Mature Period (1991-2000)
Belgium The Netherlands Luxembourg  West Germany France Italy	<ul> <li>Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg established the Benelux Union in 1948.</li> <li>In order to distribute the funds received under the Marshall Plan, Western European countries established the Organization for European Economic Cooperation (OEEC) to apportion American loans and grants.</li> <li>In order to distribute the funds received under the Marshall Plan, Western European countries established the Organization for European Economic Cooperation (OEEC) to apportion American loans and grants.</li> </ul>		In 1993, the European Union was established to replace the European Community.  In the Treaty of Amsterdam of 1997, Britain suggested adding the 'emergency brake' clause, whereby member states could stop others from further cooperating due to 'important and stated reasons of national policy'.
Britain		and establish a common external tariff.  ■ In 1960, the Outer Seven (Britain, Austria, Switzerland, Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Portugal) founded the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) to lower internal tariffs without establishing a common external tariff.  ■ In 1960, the Outer Seven (Britain, Austria, Scheduled to come into effect in the single European Act, which stipulated single European market must be stablishing a common external tariff.  ■ In 1960, the Outer Seven (Britain, Austria, Scheduled to come into effect in the single European Act, which stipulated single European market must be stablishing a common external tariff.  ■ In 1960, the Outer Seven (Britain, Austria, Scheduled to come into effect in the single European Act, which stipulated single European market must be stablishing a common external tariff.	as the single currency amongst most of EU states.  ed that a pe created evement of
United States	<ul> <li>In 1947, the US signed the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) with Western European countries for mutual tariff reductions.</li> <li>In 1948, the US introduced the Marshall Plan to offer loan aid totaling US\$13 billion to Western European countries.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>In 1961, the US established the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) with European countries for mutual tariff reductions.</li> <li>In 1962, the US signed the Trade Expansion Act with European countries for mutual tariff reductions.</li> </ul>	
Soviet Union	<ul> <li>At the drafting stage of the Marshall Plan in 1947, the Soviet Union introduced the Molotov Plan to provide economic aid for Eastern European countries, including:</li> <li>Trade agreements between the Soviet Union and Bulgaria: Commodity loans amounting US\$5 million to Bulgaria</li> </ul>	The Soviet Union often used 'coordinating national economic plan' as an excuse to go intervene in the economies of its satellite states, controlling their industrial and approduction as well as resources allocation.	
Eastern European countries	<ul> <li>▲ Trade agreements between the Soviet Union and Albania: Loans amounting US\$6 million to Albania</li> <li>● In 1949, the Soviet Union established the Council for Mutual Economic Assistance (COMECON) as a follow-up to the Molotov Plan.</li> </ul>	Since 1961, Albania stopped participating in COMECON activities out of dissatisfaction of the Council.	<ul> <li>In 1991, the COMECON was dissolved.</li> <li>After 1991, many Eastern European countries individually signed agreements with the European Community, including the EC-Poland Interim Agreement and EC-Hungary Interim Agreement, to become eligible to take part in economic integration in Western Europe.</li> </ul>